• Category Archives News
  • Bill Waite Memorial Race 8-24-2013

    Bill Waite Memorial

    The last scheduled event for LaSalle Speedway will include Outlaw Sprint Cars, UMP Modifieds, UMP Street Stocks, and UMP 4 cylinders in remembrance of Bill Waite Jr.

    Pits open at 1pm
    Grand Stands at 4pm
    Hot Laps at 6pm
    Racing at 7pm

    Adults $22
    Pit Passes $30
    High School with ID $5
    13 and under with an Adult Free

    There are a limited amount of Skybox seats remaining for this event. +
    Skyboxes Tickets Available in Advance only
    CALL 630-279-3006
    Skybox tickets – per person – $25
    Skyboxe/Pit Combo Per Person – $30
    Skyboxes – entire box – 15 people – $30
    Skybox/Pit Combo – Entire box 15 people – $450

  • Lucas Oil Spring Shoot Out

    La Salle, IL (May 11, 2013) – Brady Smith edged out fellow Wisconsin driver, Jimmy Mars by just a few inches at LaSalle Speedway on Saturday Night in winning the Jeff’s Enginemasters Spring Shootout. It was Smith’s first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win since 2008. Trailing Smith and Mars to the finish line in the $10,000 to win race was John Blankenship, Chris Simpson, and Don O’Neal.

    “I have to thank Jimmy (Mars) for racing me clean that was quite a race, we are happy to be here in Lucas Oil victory lane. We haven’t been racing much this year, I had knee surgery back in March, and it took a while to recover from that,” said Smith. With the win Smith became the seventh different winner in eleven LOLMDS events in 2013.

    Mars was seeking his first LOLMDS victory since the ’09 North/South 100 at Florence (KY) Speedway, but fell just short of the win. “Congratulations to Brady, I hope the fans enjoyed that race, to run 50-laps here without a yellow says something about the track and the drivers in this race. We got boxed in there behind another car and Brady was able to get around me. I thought that on the final lap, I was going to get him. I saw him slide up the track and he left and opening, but we came up just short.”

    Blankenship was looking for his first win of the season, and watched the action in front of him in the closing laps. “I was hoping maybe they would get together and we could sneak by for the win, we gained some points tonight, those two had a great race for the lead, I had a good battle with (Chris) Simpson for the entire race it seemed like.”

    Completing the top ten were Jimmy Owens, Eddie Carrier Jr., Brian Birkhofer, Steve Francis, and Randy Korte.

    In preliminary action, Eddie Carrier Jr. set the overall Time (Group A) amongst the 38 entrants, with a lap of 13.679 seconds. Randy Korte set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.993 seconds. Brady Smith, John Blankenship, Don O’Neal, and Chris Simpson won their respective heat races. Kent Robinson and Brandon Sheppard won their respective B-Mains.

    The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will make its next stop at Batesville Motor Speedway in Batesville, AR for the 2nd Annual “Bad Boy 98” next week, from Thursday, May 16th with an Open Practice night and continue on Friday, May 17th, with RED BUCK Time Trials and Heat Races. Capping off the weekend on Saturday, May 18th, there will be B-Mains, and the 98-Lap, $20,000-to-win “Bad Boy 98” main event. For more information on BMS, log onto www.batesvillemotorspeedway.net.

    For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
    Race Summary
    Saturday Night, May 11th, 2013
    Spring Shootout – LaSalle Speedway – La Salle, IL

    Red Buck Fast Time Group A: Eddie Carrier Jr. / 13.679 seconds
    Red Buck Fast Time Group B: Randy Korte / 13.993 seconds

    Wiles Drive Shafts Heat Race #1 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brady Smith, Eddie Carrier Jr., Steve Francis, Jerry Lierly, Billy Moyer Jr., Brian Shirley, Mike Provenzano, Chad Simpson, Jason McBride, Austin Hubbard

    Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): John Blankenship, Brian Birkhofer, AJ Diemel, Earl Pearson Jr., Kent Robinson, Bobby Pierce, Jared Landers, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Jason Riggs

    Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O’Neal, Chris Simpson, Scott Bloomquist, Ray Guss, Jr., Scott Schmitt, Billy Drake, Jason Feger, Ryan Unzicker, Michael Glynn

    FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Chris Simpson, Don O’Neal, Scott Bloomquist, Ray Guss, Jr., Billy Drake, Scott Schmitt, Ryan Unzicker, Jason Feger, Michael Glynn
    CV Products B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Kent Robinson, Billy Moyer Jr., Jared Landers, Bobby Pierce, Chad Simpson, Brian Shirley, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Mike Provenzano, Jason McBride, Austin Hubbard, Jason Riggs

    Wrisco Aluminum B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Billy Drake, Dennis Erb Jr., Scott Schmitt, Tyler Reddick, Ryan Unzicker, Jason Jaggers, Jason Feger, Rich Bell, Dale Markham, Michael Glynn

    Race Statistics

    Entrants: 38
    Lap Leaders: Jimmy Mars (Laps 1 – 37); Brady Smith (Laps 38 – 50)
    Caution Flags: none
    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Bobby Pierce, Austin Hubbard
    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Jason McBride
    Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Dennis Erb Jr. (Started: 22nd, Finished: 13th, Advanced: 9 positions)
    Allstar Performer of the Race: Brady Smith
    Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
    JRi Shocks/Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Bobby Pierce
    COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Vic Hill Racing Engines
    Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars
    Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Rick Smith (Brady Smith)
    HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Brian Birkhofer (Lap# 4; 13.267 seconds)
    Time of Race: 15 minutes 40 seconds

    Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:

    *Points are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

    Article Link: http://www.lucasdirt.com/2013/05/11/brady-smith-brilliant-in-spring-shootout-at-lasalle/

  • 2014 Thaw Brawl March 27th, 28th, and 29th

    We would like to thank all of the drivers, crews, and families that helped to make the 2013 Thaw Brawl a success. LaSalle Speedway would also like to thank all of its employees, families, and friends, and most of all YOU the race fans. We are excited to announce the 3rd annual Thaw Brawl will be on March 27th,28th, and 29th, 2014. Paying $15,000 to the winner. Thanks again for supporting LaSalle Speedway.

  • M0238_ZLaSalle Speedway Giving Back this Christmas!

    This Christmas, the LaSalle Speedway and Izzo family have decided to forego the normal gift giving. Instead, we are giving financially and chartibly to The Wounded Warrior Project. However, it would be our ultimate gift idea to give help to someone locally. As great as The Wounded Warrior Project is, there is still a certain amount of donation money that goes to administration costs. Whereas giving locally, one-on-one, would provide 100% of the donation to recepients. If there is anyone that knows of a service man or woman who has seen action or has served our country in any capacity and could use some help, let us know. We need to show them that we appreciate their sacrifice made for us, and give back.